A free face rating is usually free. The exception is the subscription tier: of 25 tools checked on 2 September 2026, three publish recurring prices, two frame them weekly, and the weekly plans annualize to between $207 and $1,039.
How Many Face Raters Actually Charge?
Most do not. 13 of the 25 tools either state the rating is free or show no price anywhere on the fetched page. Four more run on platform credits whose dollar value never appears on the tool page, so the cost of one rating is not computable from what a visitor can see. The paid tier splits cleanly in two: one-time reports between $2.99 and $19, and recurring subscriptions. The subscriptions are where the arithmetic gets interesting.
The Weekly Framing
Two of the three tools that publish a recurring price frame it by the week. Maxxing.me states $19.99 per week, which annualizes to $1,039.48. Umax's Apple listing prices Weekly Premium at $3.99 to $6.99, which annualizes to $207.48 to $363.48, and the listing itself states that analysis results require the subscription. A week is the smallest number a recurring price can wear. Multiplied out, the cheapest weekly plan in the sample passes the most expensive one-time report in the sample ($19) during week five.
| Stated price | As framed | Over a year |
|---|---|---|
| $3.99 per week (Umax entry tier) | weekly | $207.48 |
| $6.99 per week (Umax top tier) | weekly | $363.48 |
| $19.99 per week (Maxxing.me) | weekly | $1,039.48 |
| $9.99 per month (Looksmaxxing AI entry) | monthly | $119.88 |
| $79.99 per month (Looksmaxxing AI top) | monthly | $959.88 |
| $17.49 once (TheFaceReport) | one-time | $17.49 |
| $19 once (this site) | one-time | $19.00 |
| $2.99 once (Lookmax Analyzer entry) | one-time | $2.99 |
The formula is stated so the table can be checked: weekly prices multiplied by 52, monthly prices by 12, one-time prices carried unchanged. The highest published recurring plan costs 54.7 times per year what the most expensive one-time report in the sample costs once. No number in this table is estimated; each comes from the price printed on the page named in the dataset.
The Trial Flip
One page in the sample states its trial mechanics in plain text: Maxxing.me offers a 7-day trial for $0.99 that auto-renews to the $19.99 weekly plan. Stating it plainly is the honest version of the pattern; the price still moves 20-fold at the flip. AirBrush advertises a 7-day free trial for its desktop app with the post-trial price not shown on the fetched page. No other tool in the sample states a trial-to-subscription flip on the pages we fetched, which is not proof none exists inside app flows we did not walk.
Who explains how to cancel?
Two tools address cancellation on the fetched pages. Maxxing.me links a dedicated How to Cancel help page next to its plans. ImageToolsHub states subscribers can cancel any time, and in the same FAQ states refunds are refused outright, quote: "We cannot offer refunds." Every other page is silent on the way out. A recurring price with no stated exit is not a trap by definition, but it does leave the leaving to guesswork.
The One-Time Tier
Four tools, ours included, sell a report once and say so. Lookmax Analyzer prices three tiers at $2.99 to $5.99 and states no subscription is required. Nanorater unlocks a single report for $2.99 with 2 free ratings every 24 hours before it. TheFaceReport charges $17.49 once and states there is no automatic renewal. A one-time price is the same number on the page and over a year, which is the whole point of it.
The Full Pricing Table
| Tool | Model | Stated price | Over a year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Maxxing.me | Subscription | $19.99/week; $49.99/month; $0.99 trial that auto-renews | $1,039.48 |
| Umax (Apple listing) | Subscription | Weekly Premium $3.99 to $6.99; per-scan add-ons | $207.48 to $363.48 |
| Looksmaxxing AI | Subscription tiers | $9.99 to $79.99/month; $4.99 one-time report banner | $119.88 to $959.88 |
| The Attractiveness Report (ours) | One-time | $19 once | $19.00 |
| TheFaceReport | One-time | $17.49 once | $17.49 |
| Lookmax Analyzer | One-time, 3 tiers | $2.99 to $5.99 once | $2.99 to $5.99 |
| Nanorater | Freemium + unlocks | $2.99 per report; $19 photo comparison | $2.99 per unlock |
| AirBrush | Freemium + trial | Not shown; 7-day desktop trial | Not computable |
| Cutout.pro | Credits | 5 credits per generation; dollar value not shown | Not stated |
| AILabTools | Credits | 1 free trial; price not on tool page | Not stated |
| Media.io | Freemium credits | Tool described as free; no dollar price | Not stated |
| ImageToolsHub | Free tool, platform sub | Sub price not on page; no refunds stated | Not stated |
| Overchat AI | Free tool page | No price shown | Not stated |
| Clipfly | No price on page | Not stated | Not stated |
| FaceRate.ai | No pricing language | Not stated | Not stated |
| PFPMaker | Freemium | Score free; report unlocked with email | $0 |
| Fotor Pretty Scale | Free (this tool) | Free per its own FAQ | $0 |
| Vidnoz | Free (this tool) | Free, stated twice | $0 |
| PrettyScale.com | Free in use | No price shown | $0 |
| AttractivenessTest.com | Free (this tool) | Free, no registration | $0 |
| AttractivenessTest.net | Free | 100% free, no subscriptions, stated | $0 |
| Golden Ratio Face | Free | No price shown | $0 |
| Pretty Scale Me | Free | 100% free, stated | $0 |
| faceshapedetector.app | Free | No hidden costs, stated | $0 |
| Facewow | Free page | No price shown | $0 |
| PinkMirror | Unreachable | HTTP 503 all day | Unreachable |
How We Ran This Check
We fetched 25 tools' public pages on 2 September 2026: the pricing page where one exists, the tool page otherwise, and for Umax, whose own web domains are parked or empty, the Apple App Store listing with its platform-published in-app purchase list. Coding used only what a page states: a price never shown is Not stated, never an estimate. PinkMirror returned HTTP 503 on every attempt and is coded unreachable. Annualization is arithmetic on stated prices only: weekly times 52, monthly times 12. The full dataset, one row per tool with the fetched URL and fetch date, is downloadable at /data/face-rating-subscription-traps.csv. This study extends The AI Face Rater Audit: 25 Tools, 8 Criteria, which coded the same tools on what they measure and where photos go.
What this check cannot tell you
- Prices behind app install flows we did not walk: in-app screens can differ from public pages.
- Regional prices: pages were fetched from one location, and at least one page states prices vary by region.
- Whether a sale price is the standing price: one tool's 50% off banner may be permanent or may not.
- Anything about value: this study prices the products, it does not rate them.
How to Cite This Study
Cite this page as: The Attractiveness Report, "The Real Price of a Free Face Rating," September 2026, with the dataset at /data/face-rating-subscription-traps.csv. The one-sentence version: of 25 AI face raters checked on one day, three publish recurring prices, two frame them weekly, and the weekly plans annualize to between $207 and $1,039.