Umax's own App Store listing states: 'analysis results require subscription. Additional scans require additional purchase.' We run a free on-device scan and sell one report, $19 once, never a subscription. This page states only what each product has published.
What Umax Does
Umax is an iOS app, 'Umax - Become Hot' by Improvement Tech LLC, holding 4.56 stars across 51,416 ratings on Apple's own lookup API. The app is free to download, but its own App Store listing states plainly what happens next: 'analysis results require subscription. Additional scans require additional purchase.' That listing names no measurement, formula or method behind the score it produces, and no Umax-branded page publishes a privacy statement of any kind. Whether a result ships with a percentile, and whether the scan itself runs on-device or on a server, isn't stated on any page Umax publishes either. Umax's own namesake domain, umax.app, isn't a working product page as of this check: a domain broker lists it for sale, 'UMax.app is for sale... $4,990... one-time.' A second domain, umaxapp.com, registered to the same company, holds a near-empty page with a contact link and nothing else. Across 41 live search results pulled for this category's money terms, Umax's own domain did not rank in a single one, even though the brand is cited across the industry as the reference example of subscription-priced face rating. On this site, Umax sits inside the same coverage as looksmaxxing, without the hype, the audience this comparison is written for.
What We Do Differently
- No install, on-device: our free scan runs in your browser, and photos never leave your browser during that scan. Nothing to download, nothing to sign up for. A Looksmax AI rating, without the hype works the same way, free, in this community's own terms. Umax runs the opposite order: install the app first, then subscribe before a score appears.
- A method you can read: our attractiveness score comes from a documented, 478-landmark AI facial analysis, with the formula published and versioned, so none of it needs to be taken on faith the way Umax's own score does.
- A privacy policy you can read: our own photo handling is published on this site right now, including exactly what happens to a paid report photo after payment.
Side by Side
This table states only what each product has published on its own pages, not what a support inbox could add if asked directly. Where Umax has not published a fact on any page we could check, the table says not disclosed instead of a guessed number, which is true for most of Umax's own column below.
| Factor | Umax | Us |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing model | Free to download; results locked behind a subscription, extra scans sold separately, per its own listing | $19 once, no subscription |
| Photo handling, free scan | Not disclosed on any public page | On-device; photos never leave your browser |
| Photo handling, paid tier | No privacy statement exists on any Umax page | Deleted within 24 hours, never used for training |
| What's measured | Not named in the App Store listing or on any Umax page | 478-landmark AI facial analysis, method published |
| Refund policy | Not published on any current page | 7-day refund |
Checked against umax.app, umaxapp.com and the 'Umax - Become Hot' App Store listing on August 29, 2026. If Umax later publishes its own pricing or privacy page, that page becomes the more current source, not this one.
Pricing: One-Time vs. Subscription
We charge $19 once, never a subscription. Umax's own App Store listing states the opposite model directly: 'analysis results require subscription. Additional scans require additional purchase.' The app is free to download, but the score it exists to produce sits behind that subscription, and no page publishes what the subscription actually costs. That gap changes what a reader can compare today: our price is checkable on this page and doesn't renew; Umax's price isn't published on umax.app, on umaxapp.com, or inside the App Store listing itself. What the difference doesn't change is what a face rating can tell you: a subscription doesn't buy a more accurate scan, only a recurring charge for one. Umax is cited across this industry as the reference example of subscription-priced face rating. As of August 29, 2026, though, it has no live marketing page of its own to check that reputation against. That gap is the more specific and more checkable difference between the two products right now.